One Of My Summer Playlists

So first of all I feel as though I need to explain the title of this blog just a little. I say “One of,” because let’s be honest, I make playlists ALL the time. To me, there is no ‘one’ summer playlist or party playlist, there are thousands of playlists for every season of life, sad, mad, in love, indifferent, chill, tired, the list goes on and on.

This playlist I am going to share in particular, is one I have been meaning to make for awhile. I say that because recently (and by recently I mean the last couple of months) I have been obsessed with a lot of RnB and kind of jazzy alternative music. For example, Steve Lacy, Rex Orange County, Cosmo Pyke, Mike Edge, then for the more RnB Noname, Ravyn Lenae, GoldLink, Kali Uchis, SZA and Thundercat. So basically, I have listened to the same songs, and genre for awhile, and I miss my other music.

This playlist features raw beats, meaningful lyrics, a soulful kind of rap (my favorite kind). I’m talking Dr. Dre, Snoop Dog, Ice Cube, the Roots, Kendrick Lamar, Kanye West, Domo Genesis, Anderson .Paak and a few others. These artists are some of my favorite, and I think they are definitely some of the best in the music industry. I also included a couple of new songs and new artists that I am really into right now.

So here is the list of all the songs on the playlist I so cleverly titled, “Cool” 

  1. Gold – Gold – BROCKHAMPTON
  2. Doves In the Wind (ft. Kendrick Lamar) – Ctrl – SZA
  3. Dynamite! – Things Fall Apart – The Roots
  4. The World Is Yours – Illmatic XX – Nas
  5. Canal St. (ft. Bones) – AT.LONG.LAST.A$AP. – A$AP Rocky
  6. Doo Wop (That Thing) – The Miseducation of Lauryn Hill – Lauryn Hill
  7. IFHY (ft. Pharrell) – Wolf – Tyler, the Creator
  8. Lather – Body Wash – Mndsgn
  9. California Love – All Eyez On Me – 2Pac
  10. Chum – Doris – Earl Sweatshirt
  11. YAH. – DAMN. – Kendrick Lamar
  12. Slow Jamz – The College Dropout – Kanye West, Twista & Jamie Foxx
  13. Get Bigger / Do U Luv – Yes Lawd! – NxWorries
  14. SMUCKERS (ft. Lil Wayne and Kanye West) – Cherry Bomb – Tyler, the Creator
  15. I get Around – Strictly 4 My N.I.G.G.A.Z. – 2Pac
  16. It Was a Good Day – The Predator – Ice Cube
  17. Hard Knock Life (Ghetto Anthem) – Vol. 2… Hard Knock Life – Jay Z
  18. ELEMENT. – DAMN. – Kendrick Lamar
  19. Still D.R.E. (ft. Snoop Dogg) – 2001 – Dr. Dre
  20. Poetic Justice (ft. Drake) – good kid, m.A.A.d city – Kendrick Lamar
  21. Gin and Juice (ft. Dat N***a Da) – Doggystyle – Snoop Dogg
  22. Dapper (ft. Anderson .Paak) – Genesis – Domo Genesis
  23. Scared Money – Yes Lawd! – NxWorries
  24. Fire Fly – Camp – Childish Gambino
  25. Everybody Loves the Sunshine – Everybody Loves the Sunshine – Roy Ayers Ubiquity

Anyways, if you like any of these songs, or are a fan of Hip Hop/RnB, or you just want some good music to hangout and listen to, then check out this playlist!!

2 thoughts on “One Of My Summer Playlists

Leave a Reply

