My first semester in Austin

For starters, I am from a fairly small, desertlike, and very boring town, and for the last 4 maybe 5 years I have been waiting for the day that I could finally escape. My escape was college, specifically the University of Texas because 1) it’s the best school in Texas and 2) it is “conveniently” placed in Austin.

I have visited Austin many times, and each visit I fell more and more in love with it. Upon each visit, I had a glimpse into the life of an Austinite. Since I live here now, all I want is to live like an Austinite lives. I do not want my life at UT to blind me from the amazing city I now live in.

I have now been in Austin for about 5 months, and I can confidently say that I have taken advantage of a lot of what Austin has to offer. So here is a list of some “Austiny” things I have done since I have I been here…

  1. DJ Z-Trip Show on 6th with our newly pierced noses img_0379
  2. Ramen Tatsu-Ya (btw DELICIOUS!!) ps. We have been to a ton of other places but too many to put in this blogimg_0336
  3. Zilker dates

 

4. Kanye West Concert

5. ACL Weekend 2 ft. Kendrick Lamar

6. Cool wall art appreciation ft. graffiti park

7. of course… THRIFTING ft. the amazing Blue Velvet Processed with VSCO with f2 preset

8. and last but not least, UT Football game

img_0425

There are other things I have done such as, eaten brunch (lots of brunch), watched a Hip-Hop freestyle battle, hiked Green-belt and relaxed in the creek, many art shows, weekly visit to Epoch coffee, shopped at Whole Foods (love that place), and overall roamed the city and admired its beauty.

Austin has so much to offer, and to me, it takes stepping out of your comfort zone, living freely, taking risks, adventuring, and immersing yourself into the community to truly take advantage of all the city has to offer.

Leave a Reply

